Akshon Media

Why Are 80% of Melee Stages Banned?

Super Smash Bros. Melee has a total of 29 stages of which only 6 are used in competitive play.

The tournament-approved stages are limited to Final Destination, Battlefield, Yoshi’s Story, Dreamland 64, Pokemon Stadium, and Fountain of Dreams, but why?

Today, we’re going to look at what makes a good stage, what makes a bad stage, and how Melee’s ruleset has changed over time.

0:00 – Intro
0:37 – MBR Ruleset
2:05 – What is a “Bad Stage”?
3:36 – The “Walk-Off” Problem
5:25 – Stages That Were “Almost” Legal
10:30 – The Final 6
12:20 – Outro

Support us on Patreon: https://patreon.com/akshonesports
Subscribe to our channel! https://goo.gl/OvCljl

Join our Discord community: https://discord.gg/ZHeCNJQUpY

Become a Member to support us: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6dI8msF1_I9HuDSvMtk_nQ/join

Follow us to stay up to date with our releases!

Website: https://www.akshonmedia.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/akshonesports/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/akshonesports/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/akshonesports

May 13, 2023